Skip to content

Jackson and Tree Named Lakehead Athletes of the Year

| News

Lakehead Athletics celebrated the 2016/2017 season this afternoon by handing out their awards at the Annual Awards Gala held in the John N. Paterson Faculty of Law Auditorium at PACI.

Jenn Jackson (Nordic Skiing) walked away with the Female Athlete of the Year, with Kevin Tree (Cross Country) reclaiming the Male Athlete of the Year once again. Both athletes had outstanding seasons with Tree taking home silver at OUAs and finishing fourth at Nationals. Jackson was a force to be reckoned with as she finished the year a national individual championship.




_D3_3325Women’s basketballs Nikki Ylagan picked up Female Freshman of the Year for her outstanding break out season. She stepped up in games, hitting some big shots that also got her named to the OUA All-Rookie team. Male Freshman of the Year was delegated to Marco Palermo, after he won gold at both the OUA and USPORTS Championships. Marco was also named both OUA and USPORTS Men’s Wrestling Rookie of the year.

The Hank Akervall Memorial Award was presented to Katelyn Zen, for her outstanding leadership and excellence in athletics along side keeping up good academic standings and being active in the community. Alex Robichaud was given the Argus Award, that goes to exceptional athletes that have captured the medias attention, named by Lakehead’s student newspaper sports editor.

A full listing of individual team awards can be found below.

Major Awards


Female Athlete of the Year – Jenn Jackson

Male Athlete of the Year – Kevin Tree

Female Freshman of the Year – Nikki Ylagan

Male Freshman of the Year – Marco Palermo

Hank Akervall Award – Katelyn Zen

Argus Award – Alex Robichaud


Team Awards

Men’s Hockey

Rookie of the Year – Patrick Murphy

Best Offensive Player – Kelin Ainsworth

Best Work Ethic – Carson Dubchak

Best Defensive Player – Dillon Donnelly

Most Valuable Player – Kelin Ainsworth

Women’s Basketball

Rookie of the Year – Nikki Ylagan

Most Improved Player – Katelyn Zen and August Ricketts

Best Defensive Player – Jerika Baldin

Amanda Nesbitt Award – Katelyn Zen

Most Valuable Player – Bridget O’Reilly

Men’s Wrestling

Rookie of the Year – Marco Palermo

Most Improved Wrestler – Tyler Ashurst

Most Valuable Wrestler – Tyler Ashurst

Women’s Wrestling

Rookie of the Year – Madison Clayton

Most Improved Wrestler – McKenzie Hall

Most Valuable Wrestler – Jessica Bershatsky

Frank Schaller Award – Kevin Leatherdale

Cross Country Running

Most Valuable Female Runner – Heather Maxfield

Most Valuable Male Runner – Kevin Tree

Indoor Track & Field

Most Valuable Female Runner – Kayla Gallo

Most Valuable Male Runner – Joe McDonough

Women’s Volleyball

Rookie of the Year – Ciara Zarn

Coaches Award – Jessica Korchak

Corrine Kollman Award – Olivia Bowman

Most Improved – Jennifer Hammerton

Most Valuable Player – Kailan Robinson

Nordic Skiing

Female Rookie of the Year – Makaila Hudson

Female Most Valuable Skier – Jenn Jackson

Male Rookie of the Year – Noah Taylor

Male Most Valuable Skier – Noah Thompson

Sportsperson of the Year – Colin Pendziwol and Erika Mihell

Men’s Basketball

Rookie of the Year – Nahshon Hurst

Most Improved Player – Mike Theodore

Best Defensive Player – Alex Robichaud

Most Valuable Player – Bacarius Dinkins


Photo Credit: Jarron Childs


Join Campus Rec Today!

Campus Recreation offers a wide range of activities for your fitness needs.

Click to learn more!