Skip to content

Palermo and Grant Crowned Athletes of the Year

| News

Lakehead Athletics celebrated the 2017/2018 season this afternoon by handing out their awards at the Annual Awards Gala held in the John N. Paterson Faculty of Law Auditorium at PACI.

Leashja Grant (Women’s Basketball) earned the Female Athlete of the Year and Wrestling’s Marco Palermo walked away with the Male Athlete of the Year.

Grant (Nassau, Bahamas) had an exceptional season as a Thunderwolf picking up a double-double in all but one game and averaged 22 points, 14 rebounds per game. She not only led the conference but also ranked as the second-leading scorer and top rebounder in the country. She was named OUA Player of the Year and a U SPORTS 1st Team All-Canadian.

Palermo, who received Male Rookie of the year last year, had another impressive competitive season as he finished the year with an OUA Silver and a U SPORTS Bronze medal. He was dominant in the majority of his matches which also earned him a repeat Junior National Championship.

Rebekkah Pyle (Cross Country) was named Female Rookie of the Year. Pyle was named OUA Cross Country Rookie of the Year, finishing 21st at OUAs and 57th at the U SPORTS Championships. Male Rookie of the Year was awarded to Scott Gall of the men’s hockey team. Gall led the team in goals and was a major impact player for the Thunderwolves this season.

The Hank Akervall Memorial Award was presented to Jerika Baldin (women’s basketball) and Mor Menashe (men’s basketball), for their outstanding leadership and excellence in athletics alongside keeping up good academic standings and being active in the community.

Rheanna Geisel (women’s volleyball) and Dylan Butler (men’s hockey) was given the Argus Award, that goes to exceptional athletes that have demonstrated superior skill and sportsmanship throughout their careers.

Listing of all the individual team awards below:

Major Award 

Argus Award – Dylan Butler and Rheanna Geisel

Hank Akervall Award – Jerika Baldin and Mor Menashe

Female Freshman of the Year – Rebekkah Pyle

Male Freshman of the Year – Scott Gall

Female Athlete of the Year – Leashja Grant

Male Athlete of the Year – Marco Palermo
Team Awards

Men’s Hockey

Rookie of the Year – Scott Gall

Best Offensive Player – Dylan Butler

Best Work Ethic – Brennen Dubchak

Best Defensive Player – Dillon Donnelly

Most Valuable Player – Devin Green and Nic Renyard

Women’s Basketball

Rookie of the Year – Tiffany Reynolds and Tianna Warwick-Dawkins

Most Improved Player – Lily Gruber-Schulz

Best Defensive Player – Jerika Baldin

Amanda Nesbitt Award – Jerika Baldin

Most Valuable Player – Leashja Grant


Male Rookie of the Year – Sam Lockie

Most Improved Male Wrestler – Jesse Leach

Most Valuable Male Wrestler – Jacob Luczak

Female Rookie of the Year- Ashley Gravelle

Most Improved Female Wrestler – Mack Monico

Most Valuable Female Wrestler – Jessica Bershatsky

Frank Schaller Award – Marco Palermo

Cross Country Running

Most Valuable Female Runner – Rebekkah Pyle

Most Valuable Male Runner – Derek Patterson

Indoor Track

Most Valuable Female Runner – Rebekkah Pyle

Most Valuable Male Runner – Derek Patterson

Erron Williams Memorial Spirit Award – Sam Kirwin

Women’s Volleyball

Rookie of the Year – Meghan Routier

Coaches Award – Jessica Korchak

Corrine Kollman Award – Jennifer Hammerton

Most Improved – Ciara Zarn

Most Valuable Player – Rheanna Geisel  and Leah Mousseau

Nordic Skiing

Female Rookie of the Year – Beth Fowler

Most Valuable Female Skier – Camille Hamm

Male Rookie of the Year – Tobias Quinn

Most Valuable Male Skier – Noah Thompson

Sportsperson of the Year – Noah Taylor

Men’s Basketball

Rookie of the Year – Rahsean Neil-Simpson

Most Improved Player – Michael Poirier

Best Defensive Player – Darnell Curtin

Most Valuable Player – Mor Menashe

_D3_2485 _D3_2476 _D3_2479 _D3_2482


Join Campus Rec Today!

Campus Recreation offers a wide range of activities for your fitness needs.

Click to learn more!