Skip to content

Dinkins and Tan Named to All-Star Squad

| Basketball (M), News

The OUA has announced their major award winners and All-Star team selections for men’s basketball.

For Lakehead, Bacarius Dinkins, of Jonesville Florida and Henry Tan, of Vaughan, Ontario were both selected to the Second All-Star team.


Dinkins played just under 30 minutes/game this season, putting up averages of 17 points and 8 rebounds per game, which ranked him 10th and 5th, respectively, in the OUA. Dinkins’ best performance of the year came against the McMaster Marauders on January 29, when he scored 27 points with 15 rebounds. He also proved his prowess in the playoffs, scoring 10 straight points in the opening quarter, and 25 total against Ryerson in the ‘Wolves playoff farewell last weekend.

Fourth year veteran Henry Tan was a workhorse for the Thunderwolves this season, clocking just under 35 minutes per game to go with 16 points, 4 rebounds and 4 assists. Tan extended Lakehead’s season by hitting the game-winning shot against Western in the first round of the playoffs.

Referee Paul Carter, a 30-year veteran of the OUA, was given the Official’s Award of Merit.

Player of the Year honors went to Mike L’Africain of the Ottawa Gee-Gees, while Ryerson’s Patrick Tatham was named Coach of the Year.

First Team All-Stars

Mike L’Africain (Ottawa)
Dani Elgadi (Brock)
Aaron Best (Ryerson)
Kaza Kajami- Keane (Carleton)
Adika Peter-McNeilly (Ryerson)
Greg Morrow (Western)
Leon Alexander (McMaster)
Alex Campbell (Windsor)
Caleb Agada (Ottawa)
Sukhpreet Singh (Queens)

Second Team All-Stars

Devin Johnson (Toronto)
Guillaume Boucard (Carleton)
Bacarius Dinkins (Lakehead)
Henry Tan (Lakehead)
Ammanuel Diressa (Ryerson)
Troy Joseph (McMaster)
Johneil Simpson (Brock)
Connor Wood (Carleton)
Will Coulthard  (Laurier)
Nathan McCarthy (Ottawa)

All-Rookie Team
Isiah Osborne (Windsor)
Tyler Brown (Brock)
Devon Williams (Toronto)
Anthony Iacoe (Laurentian)
Simon Mikre (Laurier)
Daniel Johansson (Toronto)
Marcus Anderson (Carleton)
Dylan Phillips (Waterloo)
Kalil Langston (Nipissing)
Stanley Mayambo (Carleton)

Player of the Year
Mike L’Africain (Ottawa)

Defensive Player of the Year
Caleb Agada (Ottawa)

Rookie of the Year
Isiah Osborne (Windsor)

Ken Shields Award
Sam Hirst (Laurentian)

Coach of the Year
Patrick Tatham (Ryerson)

Officials Award of Merit
Paul Carter


Join Campus Rec Today!

Campus Recreation offers a wide range of activities for your fitness needs.

Click to learn more!