Skip to content

Carleton Women and Lakehead Men Claim Nordic Skiing Championship Titles

| Nordic Skiing

The OUA Nordic Skiing Championships concluded today at the Lappe Nordic Ski Centre with the Carleton Ravens women’s and the Lakehead Thunderwolves men’s team walking away with the OUA Championship titles.

The day started with the Men’s Mass Start Free with over 15cm of fresh snow. In another close ending, Jordan Cascagnette walked away with the gold after a photo finish against Alexander Maycock, both of the Nipissing Lakers. Lakehead’s Noah Thompson was not far behind to place third in a time of 46:24.3. Overall the Lakehead Thunderwolves had a total of 56 combined points that earned them the Nordic Skiing Championship Title. Nipissing and Carleton both finished in a tie with 73 points and the placings were then determined by the finishes in the relay. In the end, Nipissing received silver and Carleton got bronze.

On the women’s side, Zoë Williams of the Ravens was the leader in the 10km right from the beginning and finished the race 1:44 ahead of her teammate Alyssa Stowe. Marlee Sauder of the Queen’s Gaels came in third to win the bronze. The Ravens rightfully won the gold overall with an unbelievable 27 points. The Guelph Gryphons came in second with 123 points followed by the Nipissing Lakers in third with 165.

Full Results can be found here

Women’s Mass Start Free Technique
Gold – Zoë Williams (Carleton)
Silver –  Alyssa Stowe (Carleton)
Bronze – Marlee Sauder (Queen’s)

Men’s Mass Start Free Technique
Gold – Jordan Cascagnette (Nipissing)
Silver –  Alexander Maycock (Nipissing)
Bronze – Noah Thompson (Lakehead)

Women’s Overall

  1. Carleton Ravens (27)
  2. Guelph Gryphons (123)
  3. Nipissing Lakers (165)
  4. Laurentian Voyageurs (183)
  5. Lakehead Thunderwolves (192)
  6. Queen’s Gaels (209)
  7. Toronto Varsity Blues (279)
  8. Algoma Thunderbirds (305)
  9. Waterloo Warriors (312)

Men’s Overall

  1. Lakehead Thunderwolves (56)
  2. Nipissing Lakers (73)
  3. Carleton Ravens (73)
  4. Queen’s Gaels (165)
  5. Guelph Gryphons (192)
  6. Laurentian Voyageurs (263)
  7. Waterloo Warriors (348)
  8. Toronto Varsity Blues (354)

Women’s Top 10

Zoë Williams (Carleton)

Alyssa Stowe (Carleton)

Marlee Sauder (Queen’s)

Emily Jones (Carleton)

Maggie McClure (Carleton)

Shelby Dickey (Nipissing)

Camille Hamm (Lakehead)

Elise Huet (Guelph)

Adrienne Hynes (Carleton)

Laura Inkila (Carleton)


Men’s Top 10

Aidan Kirkham (Carleton)

Jordan Cascagnette (Nipissing)

Noah Thompson (Lakehead)

Alexander Maycock (Nipissing)

Robert Simpson-Spook (Guelph)

Gavin Shields (Lakehead)

Noah Taylor (Lakehead)

Ezra Pierce (Carleton)

Geoffrey Way-Nee (Lakehead)

Brendon Howard (Carleton)


Coach of the Year

Leif Lennie (Lakehead) & Colin Rhodes (Waterloo)


Join Campus Rec Today!

Campus Recreation offers a wide range of activities for your fitness needs.

Click to learn more!