Skip to content

Harvey, Doornick Honoured by OUA

| Basketball (M)

Author: Hugh Mullally

The OUA announced their men’s basketball major award winners today. A full list of award winners follows below.

Lakehead’s Dwayne Harvey of Hamilton, Ontario was named to the OUA second all-star team.

Harvey concluded an illustrious career this season, having played out his final three years of eligibility with the Thunderwolves. In that time he was a prolific play-maker and scorer, on top of being one of the best rebounding guards in the league.

Ryan Doornick was also among those honored today, being selected to the OUA’s all-rookie team.

Coach Manny Furtado:

“It’s nice to have one of our guys recognized as an all-star. Dwayne has made a name for himself in this league over the years and this season was no different. Guys like Dwayne don’t come around too often. His contributions to the program success have not gone unnoticed. We wish Dwayne continued success.”

Furtado continues, “Ryan’s done well adjusting to the OUA-level of play this year, and has shown himself to be a capable outside shooter and ball-handler. We’re looking forward to seeing how his game develops during his career here at Lakehead. Congrats to Ryan on the all-rookie selection, he deserves it.”

OUA Major Award Winners

Player of the Year: Johnny Berhanemeskel – Ottawa Gee-Gees

Defensive Player of the Year: Thomas Scrubb – Carleton Ravens

Rookie of the Year: Johneil Simpson – Brock Badgers

Ken Shields Award: Bjorn Michealsen – Ryerson Rams

Coach of the Year: James Derouin – Ottawa Gee-Gees

Officials Award of Merit: Paul Carter

OUA First-Team All-Stars

Johnny Berhanemeskel – Ottawa Gee-Gees

Thomas Scrubb – Carleton Ravens

Philip Scrubb – Carleton Ravens

Jahmal Jones – Ryerson Rams

Rotimi Osuntola – Windsor Lancers

Caleb Agada – Ottawa Gee-Gees

Greg Morrow – Western Mustangs

Aaron Best – Ryerson Rams

Nick Tufegdzich – York Lions

Greg Faulkner – Queen’s Gaels

OUA Second-Team All-Stars

Aaron Redpath – McMaster Marauders

Rohan Boney – McMaster Marauders

Dwayne Harvey – Lakehead Thunderwolves

Tychon Carter-Newman – Laurentian Voyageurs

Gabriel Gonthier-Dubue – Ottawa Gee-Gees

Mitch Farrell – Windsor Lancers

Connor Wood – Carleton Ravens

Will Coulthard – Laurier Golden Hawks

Devin Johnson – Toronto Varsity Blues

Adika Peter-McNielly – Ryerson Rams

OUA All-Rookie Team

Johneil Simpson – Brock Badgers

Luke Allin – Laurier Golden Hawks

Jedson Tavernier – Western Mustangs

Marcos Clennon – Nipissing Lakers

Tanner Graham – Queen’s Gaels

Sage Usher – Toronto Varsity Blues

Gene Spagnuolo – York Lions

Marcus Lewis – Nipissing Lakers

Ryan Doornick – Lakehead Thunderwolves

David McCulloch – McMaster Marauders


Join Campus Rec Today!

Campus Recreation offers a wide range of activities for your fitness needs.

Click to learn more!