Skip to content

Women Place First, Men Dominant in Team Sprints

| Nordic Skiing

Author: Hugh Mullally

The Canadian College and University Nordic Championships (CCUNC) kicked off on Saturday morning at Lappe Nordic Ski Centre, with great results for the hosting Lakehead Thunderwolves.

Men’s Results  Women’s Results

Day one featured the team sprints, with teams of two skiers completing a course relay-style. Lakehead was joined on the course by teams from Laval, Carleton, UBC, Alberta and Nipissing.

The women Thunderwolves are the defending CCUNC champions, while the men’s team is trying to regain their CCUNC championship they earned two seasons ago before having it taken away by Laval last season.

The Lakehead men’s team had four duos in action, with Ben Wilkinson-Zan and Scott Hill placing first with a time of 15:20.93, followed by Harry Seaton and Angus Foster just 1.47 seconds behind them. Laval’s team of Hugo Fontaine and Frederic Touchette placed third in the sprints, 8 seconds behind Seaton and Foster.

The Lakehead duos of Lucas Shewen and Chris Hamilton placed 7th, while Geoffrey Way-Nee and Sean Carter finished in 9th place.

On the women’s side, Alannah Maclean and Sadie White took a convincing first place with a time of 18:06.31, followed 9 seconds later by Carleton’s Kyla Vanderzwet and Kendra Murray in second place. Shelby Dickey and Kajsa Heyes from Nipissing placed 3rd.

Three other Thunderwolf women’s teams competed as well, with Holly Brown and Erin Tribe teaming up to finish in 5th, and Bryana van Leeuwen and Moira Haggarty placing 6th. Nicole Dumonski and Catherine O’Neill placed 11th.

CCUNC action at Lappe continues tomorrow (Sunday) with the freestyle interval start, the women’s 5km race beginning at 10:10am, followed by the men’s 10km race at 12 noon. That will be followed by more CCUNC races Tuesday and Wednesday.

Ski Nationals 2015 official website

More photos from Day 1 (women’s only)


Join Campus Rec Today!

Campus Recreation offers a wide range of activities for your fitness needs.

Click to learn more!